Following Morecambe and Heysham's purchase of Heysham Head and subsequent renovation, it was decided to construct a Karting track on part of the headland. The job of designing and constructing the track was awarded to Bert Hesketh, who then went on to manage the track. The first races were held in 1967 with the first World Cup races being held the following year.

World Cup Winners

1968 Graham Liddle
1969 Graham Liddle
1970 Kelvin Hesketh
1971 Graham Liddle
1972 Graham Liddle
1973 Reg Gange Jnr
1974 Dave Cullinmore
1975 Lennart Bohlin
1976 Dave Buttigieg
1977 Lennart Bohlin
1978 Lennart Bohlin
1979 Dave Buttigieg
1980 Lennart Bohlin
1981 Reg Gange Jnr
1982 Alan Kronow
1983 Richard Dean

Following planning refusal to extend the track the track closed in 1983. Most of the land occupied by the track was eventually taken over by the National Trust as part of their Project Neptune.